5 WAYS to BEAT THE DAYUM HEAT:Tools to help Makeup Artists, and their Kits from Melting

As an independent film and editorial makeup artist, I have been in some seriously hot-ass places to do makeup.  On top of tar roofs on the hottest days of the summer, on location in Jamaica in a rain forest in the middle of summer. How about filming a music video in a wide open field with no cover in sight, oh and it’s 100+ that day. This heat is the kind that can melt your makeup, and you at the same time.   I decided it was time to figure some things out. After watching the demise of one of my favorite foundations palettes and pencils become a molten lava-esq liquid mess in the bottom of my kit.  Here are some of my tried and true ways for beating the heat. TOOLS TO LIVE BY


Screen Shot 2015-07-30 at 1.29.04 AMScreen Shot 2015-07-30 at 1.27.52 AM Screen Shot 2015-07-30 at 1.31.41 AM Insulated Lunch Bags are the way to go to keep your makeup from melting. I have carried my makeup in these for over ten years. I love these.  They come with an adjustable strap. You can turn it into a handle, or place it over your shoulder for carrying–like a set bag.  They come in various shapes and sizes. Some also have outside pockets you can store tissues, brushes, and even a side pocket that could hold your fan or water bottle.  Place one or two of these Ice Packs in your bag with makeup that could melt, pencils, foundations, concealers cream blush, lipsticks, etc.,  and your makeup will not melt. Just remember when not in use keep the bag sealed.  I also keep my wet naps in this bag to keep them cool as well.

NOTE: If you don’t have these items for now, use Ziplock Bags. Just place your items inside, seal it and put the bag in the cooler with ice and the beverages. I have used this method for years.  I am here to tell you my makeup never melted not even in the desert.

Don’t forget as soon as you come home to place those Ice Packs back into your freezers for the next time you’ll need them.

INSULATED BAG LINK &  COOL PAKS LINK


NEVER LEAVE HOME WITHOUT YOUR FANS!!!! You must have several, and plenty of batteries.  I always have fans in my kit. When I know I will be on location I carry several.

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 3.01.45 AM

The Top Rated Fan LINK


UMBRELLAS are THE most important tool you will have in your summer kit. The bigger the better.  They will block the heat from you and the model. They allow you to paint freely (let the model hold as you paint), and most importantly keep you several degrees cooler.  I never go to set without at least two in my kit.  UMBRELLAS–I HAVE THESE LINKScreen Shot 2015-07-30 at 1.23.35 AM


Screen Shot 2015-07-30 at 1.45.55 AM MISTING FANS  This mister I discovered while working in the Florida’s summer heat, it saved my life.  That little fan really does work.  The mist is fine and comforting on a hot-ass-day.  Fill it up half way with  ice cubes, half water — you’ll be in misting heaven.

The Misting Fan of Life LINK


SUNSCREEN SUNSCREEN You didn’t think I’d leave this off the list now?  YOU must wear sun protection.  YOU must reapply throughout the day. And YES, even Black folks must use sunscreen. The Yes you do have to wear sunscreen LINK


IMPORTANT AND OBVIOUS– I know to many these are obvious but to many they are not.  The other obvious but often forgotten items:

  • Drink Water, if really hot, drink some Gatorade.
  • Bring a pair of sunglasses, and if you wear glasses its time for prescription sunglasses.
  • Don’t forget your set bag, make sure that it’s not plastic, switch to cloth.
  • Wear lightweight cotton clothes, and stay your be-hind under that umbrella
  • Nothing wrong with a sun visor or a big old floppy hat to keep the sun off of you.
  • Purchase a Cooling Cloth for you to keep your body up to 30 degrees cooler.

Live long, (stay as cool as possible), and prosper people! Believe me I feel your pain 🙂

ALL OF THESE ITEMS CAN BE FOUND ON AMAZON.COM

AMAZON.COM

What are ways you beat the heat? Let me know below and share with readers.